CEC/ICMC 2013 Returns to Anchorage, Alaska

The 2013 Cryogenic Engineering Conference/International Cryogenic Materials Conference (CEC/ICMC) was held June 17-21 at the Dena’ina Civic and Convention Center, Anchorage, Alaska. Among the almost 600 attendees, the published list included 240 from North America, 177 from Europe, 59 from Japan, 50 from China and 22 from South Korea. (Some attendees opted not to have their information published.) The conference was previously held in Anchorage in 2003.

These cryogenic meetings took place during an unseasonable heat wave in the first part of the week, but it cooled off quickly. The oral and poster sessions were well attended and provoked lively exchanges among attendees. During the Welcome Reception, refreshment breaks, Exhibitor Reception and Farewell Reception attendees had a chance to socialize.

Chairs were Peter Shirron, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, CEC, and Wilfried Goldacker, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, ICMC. Program chairs were Franklin Miller, University of Wisconsin-Madison, CEC, and Robert Walsh, Florida State University/NHMFL, ICMC. Chief Technical Editors are John Weisend II, European Spallation Source, CEC, and Balu Balachandran, Argonne National Laboratory, ICMC.

Plenary speakers were Philippe Lebrun, CERN, “Cryogenics for the Large Hadron Collider: From Construction to Operation and Future Upgrades;” Stefano Sgobba, CERN, “Selection of Properties of Structural Materials for Cryogenic Applications;” and John Royal, Praxair, “The Global Industrial Gases Industry: Past, Present and Future.”

Many awards were presented at the conference. The CEC Samuel C. Collins Award went to Peter Kittel, retired from NASA Ames Research Center. The CEC Russell B. Scott Memorial Award went to Tuttle, Canavan, DiPirro, Franck and Green for best research paper; and Bertele, Glaister, Gully, Hendershott, Levenduski, Marquardt and Wilson for best application paper. The CEC student meritorious paper award went to Vanderlaan and Van Sciver. ICMC presented its Lifetime Achievement award to Harald Weber, Atominstitut, TU Wien. The ICMC student meritorious paper award went to Yang, Wu, Huang, Huang, Li and Li. The ICMC best paper awardees were Ghosh and Greene for best superconducting materials paper and Cooley, Hahn, Hicks, Romanenko, Schuessler and Thompson for best structural materials paper. Amir Jahromi, UW-Madison and NASA GSFC, received the Klaus Timmerhaus Scholarship Award. The journal Cryogenics presented Gerard Vermeulen and Angela Volpe with the 2012 Cryogenics Best Paper award.

CSA presented John Pfotenhauer, UW-Madison, and Tom Peterson, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, with the Fellow Award and Louis Salerno, retired from NASA Ames, with the Robert W. Vance Award. (See CEC/ICMC photos on previous page.)

Elected to the CEC board were Luisa Chiesa, Fermilab, Rich Dausman, Cryomech, and Michael DiPirro, NASA Goddard.

View full photo galleries of the CEC/ICMC exhibits and activities.