Global Physics Photowalk 2018

Major science laboratories from around the world have announced the 2018 Global Physics Photowalk, a competition open to amateur and professional photographers. For the event, physics facilities in Asia, Australia, Europe and North America will open their doors for a rare opportunity to see behind the scenes of some of the world’s most exciting and ground-breaking science.

The photowalk will involve local and national competitions, with the winning national photos submitted to a global judging panel. The Interactions Collaboration organized the event with support from the Royal Photographic Society (RPS). The collaboration will announce a global shortlist in August, followed by a public vote.

“This is a fantastic celebration of the stunning beauty of science on an international scale,” says Mark Richardson, chair of the RPS Science Committee. “The world’s best scientific research is based on international collaboration, a worldwide melting pot of expertise and technologies, each working for the benefit of our global society and economy. The photowalk is a rare opportunity to capture work behind the scenes at the world’s best international laboratories and capture it, frame by frame.”

Confirmed locations include CERN—the home of the Large Hadron Collider—as well as underground laboratories in the US, Australia and the UK; and labs and facilities in Italy, the UK, the US, Canada, and—for the first time—China.

There is no universal date set for the photowalk and access to each facility is limited and strictly by registration only. Details about the facilities and local photowalks can be found by clicking on the links below. Individuals and photogs alike can follow along on social media with #PhysPics18.

Boulby Underground Laboratory (UK)
Brookhaven National Laboratory (US)
CERN (France/Switzerland)
Chilbolton Observatory (UK)
Daresbury Laboratory (UK)
Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (US) (CSA CSM)
Frascati National Laboratories (Italy)
Gran Sasso National Laboratory (Italy)
Institute of High Energy Physics (China)
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (US)
Legnaro National Laboratories (Italy)
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (UK)
SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (US)
Southern National Laboratories (Italy)
Stawell Underground Physics Laboratory (Australia)
Sanford Underground Research Facility (US)
UK Astronomy Technology Center (UK)