CSA Certifies Newly Elected Officers, Directors

At their October 31 meeting during the Applied Superconductivity Conference in Seattle, the CSA board certified the results of its 2018 election.

Newly elected are professor John Pfotenhauer, University of Wisconsin-Madison, president elect; directors Lukas Graber, Georgia Institute of Technology, Carl Kirkconnell, West Coast Solutions; and Mike Meyer, NASA Langley Research Center. Chris Rey, Energy to Power Solutions, was re-elected and will serve as awards committee chairman. They will take office on January 1, 2019, along with President Peter Shirron, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, and Melora Larson, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, past president.

Continuing board members are John Weisend II, ESS, board chairman; and directors Peter Bradley, NIST; Lance Cooley, Center for Superconductivity, FSU; Scott Courts, Lake Shore Cryotronics; Richard Dausman, Cryomech, treasurer; Eileen Cunningham, Meyer Tool & Mfg.; professor Jonathan Demko, LeTourneau University, secretary; Peter Knudsen, FRIB, MSU; and Mark Zagarola, Creare LLC.

Votes of confidence were given to Weisend as board chairman and to Laurie Huget, Executive Director and Werner K. Huget, Registered Agent.

At the Cryogenic Engineering Conference/International Cryogenic Materials Conference, to be held July 21-25 at the Connecticut Convention Center in Hartford, Weisend, who is also chairman of the CSA education committee, is planning several short courses, which will be finalized soon. The society will also present several awards at this meeting. ■