International Cryocooler Conference to be Held as All-Virtual Event

Due to the ongoing pandemic, organizers have moved the fall International Cryocoolers (ICC21) meeting conference to a totally virtual event to be held December 7-10, 2020. There will be no on-site attendance, but technical papers and poster sessions will be pre-recorded live and presented via Zoom®. Learn more and register at

Papers in the form of pre-recorded live presentations will be available on the ICC website for viewing by registered attendees through the end of January 2021. As with past ICC conferences, paper manuscripts will be published in Cryocoolers 21 and shipped to paid attendees approximately six months after the conference.

The new format will build upon the 100 abstracts ICC21 authors submitted during the spring-2020 Call for Papers and a limited number of “late news” papers covering more recent cryocooler developments. Poster sessions will also be included with question and answer opportunities. The event will also include new plenary talks at the beginning of each day and some open-mic sessions for ICC participants to informally socialize via Zoom®.

Officers include Sastry Pamidi, ICC21 conference chairman; Nancy Mclean and Chul Han Kim, local organizing committee; Carl Kirkconnel, program chairman; Ron Ross, Jeff Rabb and Saul Miller, conference proceedings co-editors; Ray Radebaugh, registered agent, and Ryan Taylor, treasurer. The ICC21 board of directors includes Pamidi, Florida State University; Mark Zagarola, Creare, (past chairman, ICC20); Dean Johnson, NASA JPL (past chairman, ICC19); Martin Crook, Rutherford Appleton Lab; Wei Dai, Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry; Lionel Duband, Commissariat a l’Engergie Atomique; Zhihua Gan, Zhejiang University: Kirkconnell, West Coast Solutions (past chair, ICC15); Franklin Miller, University of Wisconsin; Jeff Raab (retired, NGAS, past chairman, ICC17); Ron Ross, NASA JPL (retired, past chair ICC8); Peter Shirron, NASA GSFC; Julien Tanchon, Absolut System SAS; Taylor, Ball Aerospace, and Marcel ter Brake, University of Twente.