Masson receives CSA’s Boom Award

Dr. Philippe J. Masson, Senior Scientist at Advanced Magnet Lab, has received the 2010 Roger W. Boom Award from the Cryogenic Society of America. Masson was chosen for his outstanding record of accomplishment in applied superconductivity R&D for power applications and rotating machinery. Masson has also made important contributions to graduate education in this field, an area which was of keen interest to Professor Boom. The Roger W. Boom Award is named for the emeritus professor from the University of Wisconsin whose career spanned more than thirty years, during which he motivated a large number of young scientists and engineers to pursue careers in cryogenic engineering and applied superconductivity. This award is given bi-annually to a young professional (under 40 years of age) who "shows promise for making significant contributions to the fields of cryogenic engineering and applied superconductivity." Dr. Christopher M. Rey, Dupont Superconductivity (now at Oak Ridge National Laboratory) Prof. Justin Schwartz, NHMFL (now at North Carolina State University) Dr. Chao Wang, Cryomech, Inc. Dr. Franz J. Baudenbacher, Vanderbilt University Dr. Terry L. Grimm, Accelerator R&D Division, National Superconducting Cyclotron Lab, Michigan State University (now at Niowave, Inc.) Dr. Jeffrey Parrell, Oxford Instruments Superconductivity Prof. Gregory Nellis, University of Wisconsin - Madison Click on the thumbnail below to view the photo.